News and Events

Announcement of the next Hazel Rowley Fellowship 4 March 2019

Applications for the 2019 Fellowship are now closed. The shortlist will be announced in early January 2019. The Fellowship winner will be announced at an event at Adelaide Writers Week on Monday 4 March 2019, following the Hazel Rowley Memorial Lecture to be given by writer Maria Tumarkin. Maria won the 2018 Melbourne Prize for Literature’s Best Writing Award for her book Axiomatic, published by Brow Books. Axiomatic has also been shortlisted for the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2019.

2018 Hazel Rowley Fellowship winner

The winner of the 2018 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship is Jacqueline Kent who is writing a biography of Australian suffragist Vida Goldstein (1869-1949). Jacqueline, who has also written biographies of Julia Gillard and Hephzibah Menuhin, was announced as the 2018 Fellowship winner at a sold-out event at the Wheeler Centre in Melbourne on 8 March 2018. It was particularly fitting to make this announcement on International Women’s Day as Vida Goldstein was a tireless political campaigner and advocate for votes for women. She stood for the Senate in 1903, the first year that women could vote and stand for Parliament in Australia. For more information, visit the Fellowship page.

The announcement followed the Hazel Rowley Memorial Lecture given by Emeritus Professor Jenny Hocking, the award-winning biographer of former Australian Prime Minister Gough Whitlam. Jenny’s talk was on ‘The Politics of Biography’. In her talk she discussed her attempts to obtain the release of letters between Sir John Kerr and the Palace, including her recent Federal Court action against the National Archives. Jenny’s latest book is The Dismissal Dossier: Everything you were never meant to know about November 1975 – the Palace connection.

Special Hazel Rowley Award

At the same event at the Wheeler Centre on 8 March 2018 the Hazel Rowley judges also gave a Special Award of an equal amount ($15,000) to writer Drusilla Modjeska as a recognition of her contribution to the art of biography and memoir over many years, spanning personal memoir and more traditional biography. Drusilla has been a great innovator in her writing, with books such as Poppy, The Orchard and Stravinsky’s Lunch. Drusilla is currently working on the second instalment of her memoir, to be called ‘First Half Second’.


Memorial Lectures and Fellowship announcement events

2018 Fellowship announcement on 8 March, with Jenny Hocking giving the 2018 Hazel Rowley memorial lecture on ‘The Politics of Biography’. The 2018 fellowship winner was Jacqueline Kent and a special award went to Drusilla Modjeska.

Jacqueline Kent and Drusilla Modjeska

Arnold Zable, Lynn Buchanan, Drusilla Modjeska, Della Rowley, Jacqueline Kent, Irene Tomaszewski

Jenny Hocking (Photo: Janusz Molinski)

2017 Fellowship announcement at Adelaide Writers Week, 9 March, with Maxine Beneba Clarke giving the 2017 Hazel Rowley memorial lecture. The 2017 fellowship winner was Ann-Marie Priest and a highly-commended award went to Suzanne Spunner.

Suzanne, Ann-Marie & Maxine

Suzanne Spunner, Ann-Marie Priest, Maxine Beneba Clarke

Maxine @ podium_crop

Maxine Beneba-Clarke

Ann-Marie at podium

Ann-Marie Priest

2016 Fellowship announcement at the ‘Art of Biography’ panel discussion at the Wheeler Centre in Melbourne, 9 March. The 2016 Fellowship winner was Matthew Lamb.

Janine Burke, Stephany Steggall, Maxine Beneba Clarke, Caroline Baum

Janine Burke, Stephany Steggall, Maxine Beneba Clarke, Caroline Baum


Janine Burke, Caroline Baum, Stephany Steggall, Maxine Beneba Clarke


Della Rowley and Matthew Lamb

2015 Fellowship announcement at Adelaide Writers Week, 4 March, with David Marr giving the Hazel Rowley memorial lecture. The 2015 Fellowship winner was Caroline Baum.

Caroline, David & Della_crop

Caroline Baum, David Marr and Della Rowley

Audience at the 2015 Adelaide Writers Week Fellowship announcement.

Audience at Writers Week

Crowd at Writers Week.

Crowd at Writers Week

2014 Fellowship announcement at the Writers Victoria Biography Salon, with Janine Burke and Jim Davidson, 11 March in Melbourne. The 2014  Fellowship winner was Maxine Beneba Clarke.

2014 Fellowship winner Maxine Beneba Clarke and 2012 winner Mary Hoban.

Maxine Beneba Clarke (left) and Mary Hoban.

Della and Maxine 2014 Salon event

Maxine Beneba Clarke and Della Rowley

At the 2014 Fellowship award in Melbourne, from left, Fellowship judge Janine Burke, Fellowship winner Maxine Beneba Clarke, Della Rowley and Fellowship judge Jim Davidson.

From left: Janine Burke, Maxine Beneba Clarke, Della Rowley, Jim Davidson.

2013 Fellowship announcement at Adelaide Writers Week, 6 March, with Alex Miller giving the Hazel Rowley memorial lecture. The 2013 Fellowship winner was Stephany Evans Steggall.

At the 2013 Fellowship announcement at the Adelaide Writers Week, from left, Alex Miller, Della Rowley and Stephany Steggall.

Alex Miller, Della Rowley and Stephany Steggall

Alex Miller.

Alex Miller

Stephany Steggall

Stephany Steggall

2012 Fellowship announcement at the Wheeler Centre in Melbourne, 14 March, following a panel discussion with Alex Miller and Jim Davidson about  biography and writing. The 2012 Fellowship winner was Mary Hoban.

At the 2012 Fellowship announcement, from left, Della Rowley, Mary , Lynn Buchanan and Irene Tomaszewski.

Della Rowley, Mary Hoban, Lynn Buchanan and Rene Tomaszewski

Jim Davidson, Alex Miller, Fiona Gruber (MC).

Jim Davidson, Alex Miller, Fiona Gruber (MC)

Mary Hoban.

Mary Hoban