The four-member judging panel consists of two judges from the Hazel Rowley Literary Committee and two guest judges who are established writers. The Hazel Rowley Literary Committee is made up of Della Rowley (Hazel’s sister), Lynn Buchanan, Irene Tomaszewski and John Murphy (all friends of Hazel’s).

The judges for the 2020 Fellowship are Jenny Hocking, Jeff Sparrow, Della Rowley and Lynn Buchanan.

Since the Fellowship was established in 2011, guest judges have been:

Jeff Sparrow

Jeff Sparrow is a writer, editor and broadcaster. He is a columnist for The Guardian Australia, a Breakfaster at Melbourne’s 3RRR, and the immediate past editor of Overland literary journal. His most recent books are Trigger Warnings: Political Correctness and the Rise of the Right (2018) and No Way But This: In Search of Paul Robeson (2017). Jeff is the author of Killing: Misadventures in Violence (2009) and Communism: A Love Story (2007), a biography of the radical intellectual Guido Baracchi. He is the co-author, with Jill Sparrow, of Radical Melbourne: A Secret History (2001) and Radical Melbourne 2: The Enemy Within (2004) and the co-editor, with Anthony Loewenstein, of Left Turn: Essays for the New Left (2012).

Jenny Hocking

Professor Jenny Hocking is Research Professor in the National Centre for Australian Studies at Monash University. She is the author of several books, including The Dismissal Dossier: Everything You Were Never Meant to Know About November 1975 (updated edn, 2017), the award-winning two-volume biography Gough Whitlam: A Moment in History (2008) and Gough Whitlam: His Time (2012), Frank Hardy: Politics Literature Life (2005) and Lionel Murphy: a Political Biography (1997). Jenny is currently working on an ARC Discovery Grant project, From Sarah Wills Howe to Thomas Wentworth Wills: An Australian Family Biography, a biographical study of the Wills family, a significant yet overlooked colonial family.

Arnold Zable

Arnold Zable is an award-winning writer, storyteller, educator and human rights advocate. His books include Jewels and Ashes (1991), which won five Australian literary awards, and depicts his journey to Poland to trace his ancestry. His best selling novel, Cafe Scheherazade (2001), which was shortlisted for the 2002 NSW Premier’s Award, depicts the lives of former refugees who meet in a coffee shop in a seaside suburb in Melbourne.  The Fig Tree (2002) is a book of true stories set in Greece, Eastern Europe, inner Melbourne and outback Australia. Other novels include Scraps of Heaven (2004), set in the Melbourne suburb of Carlton, and Sea of Many Returns (2008). Set on the island of Ithaca, it was longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award. Violin Lessons (2011), which was shortlisted in the 2012 NSW Premier’s Awards, is a collection of stories set in many parts of the globe. In 2016 Arnold published The Fighter, a biography of Henry Nissen, a champion boxer from Carlton, Melbourne. The Fighter was shortlisted for the 2017 Victorian Premier’s Award, and the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2017 Multicultural NSW Award. In 2013 Arnold was awarded the Voltaire prize for the advancement of freedom of expression. In 2017 Arnold received an Australia Council Fellowship for Literature.

Janine Burke

Janine Burke is an art historian, curator and award-winning novelist. She has published 20 books, including Joy Hester (1983), Australian Gothic: A Life of Albert Tucker (2002) and The Heart Garden: Sunday Reed and Heide (2004). In 2006 she published The Gods of Freud: Sigmund Freud’s Art Collection and she curated Freud and Eros: Love, Lust and Longing for the Freud Museum London (2014). In 1987 she won the Victorian Premier’s Award for her novel Second Sight. In 2012 Janine published Nest: The Art of Birds and curated an exhibition of the same name for McClelland Sculpture Park + Gallery. Janine also curated Human/Animal/Artist: Art Inspired by Animals for McClelland. In 2014, she was awarded an Australia Council for the Arts Established Writers grant. With Helen Hughes, she co-edited Kiffy Rubbo: Curating the 1970s (2016). Dr Burke is Honorary Senior Fellow, Victorian College of the Arts, University of Melbourne.

 Jim Davidson

Jim Davidson has been a professor of history, a magazine editor, and an opera critic. He has held academic posts in England and South Africa and the Australian National University as well as in Melbourne.  From 1974 to 1982 he edited Meanjin. Jim’s books include a set of interviews with writers, Sideways from the Page, a history of Australian tourism, but in particular two biographies. These are Lyrebird Rising: Louise Hanson-Dyer of Oiseau-Lyre, the life of a musical expatriate, and A Three-Cornered Life: The Historian WK Hancock. Together they have won six prizes between them. These include the Prime Minister’s Prize for History (2011) and The Age Non-Fiction Book of the Year (twice).

Alex Miller

Alex Miller is the award-winning author of 11 novels. He is published internationally and widely in translation. He is twice winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, in 1993 for The Ancestor Game and in 2003 for Journey to the Stone Country. He is an overall winner of the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize in 1993 for The Ancestor Game. His fifth novel, Conditions of Faith, won the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction in the 2001 NSW Premier’s Awards. In 2011 he won this award for the second time with his novel Lovesong. He was awarded the prestigious Melbourne Prize for Literature in 2012. His most recent novel is Coal Creek, which won the 2014 Victorian Premier’s Award.  His collection of essays and short stories, The Simplest Words, was published by Allen and Unwin in 2015.  His 12th novel, The Passage of Love, will be published in October 2017.  Alex is a fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities.